May, 2019
Aloha AAUW Hilo Members,

Congratulations on a successful year of networking and community building, fund raising, honoring and supporting local University and Community College students, engaging with the AAUW State Policy Committee, and supporting equal pay and gender equity with your interest, advocacy and testimony.

On Saturday, May 4th we held our Annual Scholarship Luncheon to officially recognize and celebrate the eight scholarship recipients selected by the Scholarship Committee. Out of the fourteen women who submitted applications for the University of Hawaii at Hilo scholarship, six were selected to receive $1,000 scholarships each. Out of the six women who submitted applications for the Hawaii Community College scholarship, two were selected to receive $1,000 scholarships each. It is a milestone that we were able to give $8,000 in scholarships this year and it is a milestone for us to be offering scholarships to both these worthwhile institutions. A picture of some of our scholarship winners is at the end of this message.

Membership efforts with fund raising have allowed us to reach these milestones. (Our first fall fund raising event will be a Rummage Sale the second Saturday in September. Please start collecting items you would like to donate to the cause of supporting local college women)

Mahalo nui loa to the members of the Scholarship Committee. Their efforts to assist applicants through writing workshops, fielding questions and reviewing applications are greatly appreciated. Many thanks to Jane Panek, Donna Barr, Sheryl Rawson, Barbara Meguro, Elaine Munro, Linda Heath and Kathi Katz.

AAUW State Policy Committee:
Our AAUW State Policy Committee has written to Senator Hirono and Senator Shatz urging them to support a package of Senate bills that will address workplace harassment and ensure workplaces free from discrimination. 

Along with our celebrations and congratulations, we must also acknowledge somber news: We are all saddened by the recent deaths of two of our AAUW Hilo branch members– Judy Blankenfeld and Sharon Justice.

Annette Barr
AAUW Hilo Branch President